Character. Charity. Sportsmanship.


As the South's premier energy provider, we touch many lives every day — and we are committed to giving back to the communities we serve. That's why Southern Company is privileged to support the Payne Stewart Award, presented annually to the player who best exemplifies the values of character, charity and sportsmanship. The past winners have all distinguished themselves through their respect for the game, the TOUR's tradition of charity and their ability to make a positive difference in the lives of others.

The award honors the memory of Stewart, an 11-time PGA TOUR winner and World Golf Hall of Fame member who died tragically during the week of the TOUR Championship in 1999. Southern Company, the "Official Energy Company of the PGA TOUR and Champions Tour," was the TOUR Championship sponsor the year of Stewart's passing. The PGA TOUR created the Payne Stewart Award in his honor, and Southern Company has supported the annual presentation since its inception.

In presenting the Payne Stewart Award, Southern Company contributes each year to three charities, including Payne and his wife Tracy Stewart's primary charity, The Stewart Family Foundation, as well as The First Tee of the Ozarks — located in Stewart's native Missouri — and a charity designated by the recipient.

Southern Company recognizes the importance of supporting our local communities through charitable giving," said CEO Tom Fanning. "In 2012 alone, our company donated more than $25 million to charitable causes and our employees contributed more than 200,000 hours of service to our communities. Our support of the Payne Stewart Award is part of our ongoing commitment to ensure that the communities we serve are better off because we are there."

2013 Winner: Peter Jacobsen

Peter Jacobsen

Southern Company joins the PGA TOUR in recognizing Peter Jacobsen as the 2013 recipient of the Payne Stewart Award.

Jacobsen is a professional golfer and commentator on Golf Channel and NBC. Since making his PGA TOUR debut in 1977, he has won seven events on the PGA TOUR and two events on the Champions Tour.

Jacobsen's impact on the golf world extends well beyond the course. Giving back to local and national communities has always been a priority for Jacobsen, who feels particularly connected to nonprofit organizations that focus on children's health and education and that work to improve the quality of life for military veterans. Over the years, he has given his time and resources to support nonprofits such as Devin's Destiny, The First Tee, Folds of Honor, Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation, Lines for Life, Summit Golf Foundation and Wounded Warrior Project.

Jacobsen's connection to his friend Payne Stewart also extended beyond the golf course. The pair, along with Mark Lye, formed the band Jake Trout and the Flounders in the 1980s. The band released two albums, the first in 1988 and the second in 1999, shortly before Stewart's untimely death.

Jacobsen and his wife, Jan, have been married for 37 years and have three children and two grandchildren.